The story of Rhem

With the due date of baby number 2 fast approaching, I have spent a lot of time thinking about how I want this birth to go compared to my first birth. I am more prepared for this birth, have done a lot of research, and am excited for a natural birth. I know there will obviously be pain, but I think I will be able to handle it better this time around and I am actually looking forward to labor. Yes, I know, I am crazy. 🙂

I thought tonight though, I will tell the birth story of my sweet little love bug, Rhem.

Back story, My husband and I got married in May of 2010, two months later we got pregnant. We found out just a week and half before PJ was scheduled to leave for MOB and head off for a year tour in Afghanistan.

Pregnancy with Rhem was text book of all the horrible pregnancy symptoms that “some women” experience. I was dizzy, nauseous, and tired for the first 3 months. Next 3 months consisted of throwing up at least once a day, back aches, and heartburn. The last 3 months weren’t as bad, but I still was throwing up. Also, I barley got any sleep. Regardless, I still loved being pregnant.

I heard that women’s pregnancy often follow their mothers pregnancy… my mom didn’t have morning sickness, and she delivered 3 weeks early with her first. Even thought I had morning sickness, I was still worried of going 3 weeks early and PJ missing the birth. (seeing as he was scheduled to come home for 2 weeks a week before my due date)

37 weeks came, and so did some contractions. 38 weeks came, more contractions. 39 weeks came, baby seemed calmed and like she wanted to stay in the womb. Of course. Pj was home for 7 days, and still no sign of Rhem, so we decided to ask for an induction the day before her due date because we wanted PJ to have as much time as he could with Rhem before heading back to Afghanistan.

7:00am we arrived at the hospital to start the pitocin and begin labor. With in 30 min contractions started. We started walking around, but was told we needed to head back and sit down because their cordless monitors weren’t working well and since I had pitocin they had to keep a close eye on baby.

1:00pm My midwife came to check me and see if I was making progress. I was having strong contractions every 2 minutes. However, I was only at a 2. (the same as I was when I came in at 7am) She then broke my water hoping to speed up the process. I continued to try to move around, take a shower, get in the tub, anything to help with pain and get this labor going.

4:00pm My midwife check me again. Now I was a 3. Awesome. 3 hours, 1cm.

7:00pm I was exhausted, hungry, and in horrible pain from contractions. Midwife check me, I was a 4. Another 3 hours, 1cm. I had enough. I ordered the epidural, I wanted sleep and for the pain I have felt for the past 12 hours to go away.

8:00pm Epidural was in and I could finally lay down and get some rest.

1:00am I was FINALLY at a 10. I was ready to push… but the midwife was currently delivering another baby so I needed to wait.

2:00am I finally began pushing. Rhem was in an awkward position so every time I pushed, she shook her head no. I felt everything. The contractions, her being stuck, the “ring of fire”. All of it. The pushing was 1 million times worse to me than the 12 hours of intense labor. The pitocin had forced her into an awkward position, making it hard to get her out. The midwife had to keep cutting so that she could make it out.

2:38am Rhem was finally born. Perfect. 9 lbs. 21 inches. Beautiful dark brown hair. Big brown eyes. I was over joyed. And hungry. Oh man, I was hungry. I held her, cuddled her, fed her while I passed the placenta and got stitched up. As soon as the midwife was done with me, I gave the nurses the baby to clean up, while I finally ate something!

It was a long process, a long painful process, but in the end it was totally worth it. However, I now know I do not want pitocin. Baby will come when baby is ready. I also see no need for medication, since I felt every painful bit of pushing that 9 pounder out. I want to stay home as long as I can so I don’t have nurses restricting me to my room/bed and so I can eat when I want and what I want! I am so excited for this labor and to see how it compares to the one I had with Rhem. & hopefully one day, I will be able to have a homebirth. I wanted a homebirth with Rhem and this baby, but we just didn’t have it in our budget to pay a home birth midwife.

Here is Pictures of my beautiful baby, Rhem.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

-brittney

Leave a Reply

