Microwave banana bread for two!?! Could it be true?

Yes. It can.

A couple days ago a friend of mine posted a link to a microwaveable banana bread recipe that is perfect for two! I made it that night… and the next night… and the next night! I love me some banana bread!

To see the original recipe, go here…http://www.mickismorsels.com/2008/10/31/mug-o-banana-bread/

The best part of this was that you do not need to wait for your banana to turn brown! I made this with new, yellow bananas and still tasted awesome! The original recipe also says use a half of a banana, but after reading comments, I decided to use a whole banana because some said it lacked a little flavor.

Anyways, here is my “original” version: (pretty much exactly like the one from Micki’s, but I used a whole banana, added a little butter, and some chocolate chips! Delicious!)

  •  4T flour
  • 2T sugar
  • 2T brown sugar
  • 1/8t salt
  • 1/8t baking powder
  • 1/8t baking soda
  • 1 large egg
  • 2T Vegetable oil
  • 1 banana (yellow or brown)
  • 1/2T butter
  • 1-2T chocolate chips (or nuts if you like)

Mix all dry ingredients together into a microwavable bowl. (I used my cereal bowl) Next, add egg to dry ingredients and mix until completely combined. Add oil and mix well. Last, add MASHED banana and mix on last time. Microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds. Take out and add butter and chocolate chips. Microwave for an additional 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

IMG_8664 IMG_8665 IMG_8666 IMG_8667 IMG_8668 IMG_8671

And here is my “healthier” version: (the original is SO good, but I decided to change it a little to make a healthier one, and I actually like this one more!)

  • 2T flour
  • 2T Oatmeal (I used instant oats)
  • 2T Sugar
  • 2T Brown Sugar
  • 1/8t Salt
  • 1/8t Baking Powder
  • 1/8t Baking Soda
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 2T Coconut Oil
  • 1 Banana (brown or yellow)
  • 1-2T DARK chocolate chips

Mix all dry ingredients together into a microwavable bowl. (I used my cereal bowl) Next, add egg to dry ingredients and mix until completely combined. Add oil and mix well. Last, add MASHED banana and mix on last time. Microwave for 1 minute and 30 seconds. Take out and add chocolate chips. Microwave for an additional 1 to 1 1/2 minutes. Let cool and enjoy!

IMG_8676 IMG_8677 IMG_8678 IMG_8679

SO good! Hope you love it!

IMG_8662

-Brittney

Leave a Reply

