When disaster strikes.

Oklahoma. My heart aches for you, but for some reason it seems to hurt more than it usually does when I hear about a disaster. Maybe it is because it seems like there as been so many disasters in the news lately, world news, national news, and local news. Bombs, fires, tornadoes, car accidents, chemical spray, sink holes, etc. Maybe it is because this time I know someone who lived extremely close to where the storm took place. They’re safe, but I know they most likely will know someone who passed away due to this storm, causing them more heart ache. Maybe it was a picture of a kid being pulled out of rubble, who happened to look identical to one of my cousins. (It was not my cousin, seeing as she doesn’t live in OK, but seriously, they could be twins!) Whatever the reason, I am thinking of you OK. I am praying for you OK. I am hurting for you OK.

Often times when disasters like this happen, the news is on repeat. Just constantly talking about what happened, and waiting for updates. Those updates we are waiting for usually consist of an increase in the number of deaths and injured. Often times I just wish it would take a break, bring some good stories that has nothing to do with the disaster. Not to minimize the tragedy, but to bring us a little joy and hope to our day, to encourage us, to give us inspiration on how we can then give some hope and light to those people impacted. Becuase (for me at least) when I am just seeing repeat stories of the destruction, I get the feeling of hopelessness. I feel the pain and the sadness of this world. I think about it constantly. (which isn’t necessarily bad) I think about how I want to help, but I have no ideas. I just feel hopeless. And then a week goes by, maybe one small story is in the news about the destruction. Usually a hero story. Brings us a smile, as well as reminding us a little of the pain. We say a little prayer as we think, “Oh yeah, I should pray that they are healing there…” then another week goes bye, and those who do not live by the disaster or have someone personally impacted tend to forget. We (read:I) needs some of the hope early on, so we can do something to help. Rather it is prayer, or sending supplies/money with redcross. Or perhaps taking a trip and helping clean up, re build, offering to play with children while parents get a moment to themselves to process what just happened. Anything to show we care. Anything that says, “We hear your cries, we’re here to help.”

I want to do something. I do not know what yet, unfortunately a trip there just isn’t financially possible of us, so perhaps it will be money (as much as we are able to give), donated, or maybe selling stuff to raise money to buy things for the community such as items for kids, clothes, school supplies, little things, necessities, as well as things just to bring a little joy.

Alright. In trying to bring a bit of joy to today, here’s my update for today.

I am finally feeling better!

Today is my beautiful niece, Leona’s Birthday! Happy Birthday Noney!

AND our cousin is currently in labor with her second boy! Praying for a fast, easy delivery for her!

IMG_2371d IMG_1365
Sweet Little “Noney” (As Rhem calls her) turns 5 today!

Love. peace. & prayers.

-brittney

Leave a Reply

